The glittering prizes


u?French architect Jean Nouvel, 62, has been awarded the $100,000 Pritzker Prize. The presentation ceremony will take place in Washington, DC, on 2 June. Nouvel’s most notable projects include the Institut du Monde Arabe (commissioned by former French president François Mitterrand) and the Fondation Cartier, both in Paris. His outpost of the Louvre in Abu Dhabi is scheduled to open in 2012.

u?The New Museum in New York and Altoids have announced the four winners of the inaugural Altoids Award, a $25,000 biennial prize designed to support emerging artists. Selected from 64 nominees, the winners are: Ei Arakawa, Michael Patterson-Carver, Lauren Kelley and Michael Stickrod. The jury for the prize included artists Paul McCarthy, Cindy Sherman and Rirkrit Tiravanija. The winners will have their work displayed in a joint exhibition at the museum opening next month.

u?This year’s Bucksbaum Award, given jointly by the Bucksbaum Family Foundation and the Whitney Museum, has been presented to the Israeli-born, Berlin-based artist Omer Fast. Established in 2000, the $100,000 prize is given to emerging artists showing in the Whitney Biennial. Fast’s four-channel video, The Casting, 2007, shows an interview with a young US Army sergeant.

u?Vancouver-based photographer Jeff Wall has won the Audain Prize for Lifetime Achievement, the most important visual arts award in British Columbia, donated by Michael Audain, chairman of Polygon Homes Ltd. The $30,000 prize is being presented on 22 May at the Vancouver Art Gallery.

u?The 15th annual Wolfgang Hahn Prize has gone to British artist Peter Doig. Named after the late German collector and conservator, the E100,000 prize is awarded by the Society for Modern Art at the Museum Ludwig in Cologne, Germany. Previous recipients of the prize include Lawrence Weiner (1995), Cindy Sherman (1997) and Raymond Pettibon (2002). A retrospective of Doig recently closed at Tate Britain and travels to the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris/ARC this month (29 May-7 September).

u?Mexican photographer Graciela Itur­bide has won the Hasselblad Found­ation International Award in Photo­graphy. Established in 1980 by the heirs to the Hasselblad camera fortune, the annual prize is given to a pioneering figure in the field of photography. In addition to SKr500,000 ($84,200), Iturbide will receive a show at the Göteborg Museum in Sweden in October.

More from The Art Newspaper


Submit a comment

All comments are moderated. If you would like your comment to be approved, please use your real name, not a pseudonym. We ask for your email address in case we wish to contact you - it will not be made public and we do not use it for any other purpose.


Want to write a longer comment to this article? Email


Share this