News China

Winners of first The Art Newspaper Asia Prize announced

Leading patrons, projects and organisations recognised in Hong Kong

The first The Art Newspaper Asia Prize was presented at the Asia Society in Hong Kong last night. Founded by our Beijing-based sister paper, The Art Newspaper China, and marking its first birthday, there were ten prizes awarded in three categories: projects, organisations and private patrons of the year.

The winners in the project of the year category were the Chinese Contemporary Art Awards, created in 1998 by the art collector Uli Sigg, and the China-India cultural exchange programme West Heavens.

Prizes for organisation of the year went to Adrian Cheng's K11 Art Foundation, the Beijing-based Taikang Space, the DSL Collection and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Shanghai.

The private patrons award went to the Chinese-Indonesian museum founder Budi Tek and Chen Tong, the founder of the non-profit Video Bureau, as well as Yana Peel, the co-founder of the Outset Contemporary Art Fund.

The winners were chosen by a judging committee made up of museum directors, artists, critics and collectors. The prize is chaired by Thomas Shao, the president of the Modern Media Group, supported by a panel of advisors that includes Anna Somers Cocks, the founding editor of The Art Newspaper and the art critic Karen Smith. Yesterday's award ceremony was sponsored by the Italian watchmaker Officine Panerai.

More from The Art Newspaper


Submit a comment

All comments are moderated. If you would like your comment to be approved, please use your real name, not a pseudonym. We ask for your email address in case we wish to contact you - it will not be made public and we do not use it for any other purpose.


Want to write a longer comment to this article? Email


Share this