Frieze Los Angeles

Frieze announces new award for emerging filmmakers

The winner of the $10,000 Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award will be announced at the second LA edition of the fair

The shortlisted filmmakers participated in a three-month intensive programme at Ghetto Film School.

Frieze continues its Hollywood coup, announcing its inaugural Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award. Offered to ten emerging filmmakers between the ages of 20 and 34, the winner of the $10,000 prize will be announced on 13 February 2020, the VIP day of the second Los Angeles edition of the fair.

Shortlisted fellows include Danielle Boyd, Mya Dodson, Michelle Jihyon Kim, Nabeer Khan, Silvia Lara, Alima Lee, Timothy Offor, Toryn Seabrooks, Noah Sellman and Nicole L. Thompson.

The award is presented in partnership with the non-profit film academy Ghetto Film School (GFS). Started in 2000 as an after-school summer program in the Bronx aimed at minority students, it has developed into a 30-month curriculum open to participants ranging in age from 14 to 34 and, like Frieze, boasts outposts in New York, Los Angeles and London.

“We are so proud to partner with Frieze and Deutsche Bank Wealth Management to provide young storytellers meaningful support in their journey towards a successful career in the film industry,” says Stosh Mintek, the chief executive of GFS.

After an intensive three-month program at GFS, the ten shortlisted fellows completed an a short film in response to Los Angeles’ cultural landscape. The resulting films will be screened at the Paramount Pictures Theatre throughout the Frieze LA, which runs 14-16 February 2020. The initiative is the Frieze's latest crossover with the entertainment industry since Hollywood’s Endeavor entertainment group bought a major stake in the UK-based fair organiser in 2016.

The finalists were selected from an open call throughout LA by a jury comprised of big names in both art and entertainment, such as artist Doug Aitken, LAXART curator Hamza Walker and Shari Frilot, the senior programmer of Sundance Film Festival.